400 bad request nginx namecheap

Discussion in 'Linux' started by securityhope, Aug 29, 2016.

1. securityhope

securityhope Administrator Staff Member

I'm totally new at server things.

I have an ip address from digitalocean. x.x.x.x
    I have a domain from namecheap. www.mywebsite.com

I tried this:
    In Namecheap -> Manage Domains -> Modify Domain tab.
    Host name -> @ -> x.x.x.x -> Record Type (A)
    Host name -> www -> www.mywebsite.com -> Record Type (URL FRAME)

I got 400 Bad Request message.

And in DigitalOcean -> DNS tab i deleted all NSX.DIGITALOCEAN.COM. things.

How can i synchronize these?

Answer

Probably I solved it.

in Domain Name Server Setup -> First 3 line added NSX.DIGITALOCEAN.COM
    and
    in DigitalOcean -> Dns Tab Added NSX.DIGITALOCEAN.COM

It's working, now.

Namecheap DNS Causes Nginx 400

Hey guys,

I tried to use Namecheap's premium/basic DNS and it always produces a 400 bad request when I try loading the site. I added the A record etc in Namecheap and it still doesn't work.

Answer

Actually, looks like I needed to wait. All fine now.

Forgot that I also changed the nameserver record in vestacp to the namecheap ones under DNS incase anyone has the same issue and is searching.

Dealing with Nginx 400 Bad Request HTTP errors

Some visitors reported that they were getting a "400 Bad Request" Nginx error randomly when visiting pages. And when they start getting that error, they can't access the site anymore: it'll output the same error no matter the page, until you "clear your cache and cookies".

The error is easily understandable and is likely to be caused by... too much cookie data.
    Every time a visitor loads *any* page/content/file of your website, it sends the cookie data to the server.
    Cookie data is sent under the form of 1 header line starting with "Cookie: ".

Basically, Nginx by default is configured to accept header lines of a maximum size of 4 kilobytes.