Fix Your IP Has Been Flagged for Potential Security Violation in WordPress

Discussion in 'Windows Know Base' started by securityhope, Jan 16, 2017.

Tags:
  1. securityhope

securityhope Administrator Staff Member

I have been maintaining a couple of WordPress blogs for several years now and have encountered problems every few months. One such problem is Jetpack blocking my access to my own blog.

Today, when I was trying to login to my blog, instead of showing the regular login page, I was shown an error page “Your IP has been Flagged for Potential Security Violation”.

I was able to resolve the issue by adding a line of code to my Wp-config.php file using FTP client. But you may don’t have to do that as there are several ways to fix your IP has been flagged for potential security violations error in WordPress.

Why may WordPress block your access?

WordPress Jetpack plugin has a security feature called Protect. This feature protects your blog from brute force attacks. When the Jetpack detects multiple unsuccessful attempts, it will block that IP address from accessing the login page.
    Though this feature has been created to protect the blog from hackers, at times even the blog owners and admins can also be blocked from accessing the login page. It is known as “False Alarm.”

Even if you have entered proper login username and password, the “your IP has been flagged for potential security violations” message can be shown to you.

WordPress is aware of this issue and has released an official guide on how to deal with it.
    If you are facing the similar problem, here are few methods to fix it.

Fix 1: Change your IP Address

If you have noticed the error message properly, you can see that WordPress has blocked your IP address from accessing the login page.

Example:

Your IP (49.32.28.36) has been flagged for potential security violation.
    Which means if you try to login with a different IP address you will be allowed to access the login page.