java -xmx1024m -xms1024m -jar minecraft_server.jar nogui

Discussion in 'Linux' started by securityhope, Sep 18, 2016.

1. securityhope

securityhope Administrator Staff Member

Java Programming Exercises?

I am fairly new to java coding. I took a camp for two weeks during the summer, and I learned stuff like loops, constructors, arrays, if statements, etc. Basically it was all in the console, I never actually learned how to make a program. I was wondering if any of you guys had any cool little exercises I could do to enhance my Java knowledge. (This includes things that I may have to research to be able to code).

Just an example - I felt like I would make a Hi-Low game.

Code:
    import java.util.Scanner;
    public class Test {

public static void main(String[] args) {

Scanner input = new Scanner(System.in);
            Random generator = new Random();
            int num1 = generator.nextInt(9)+1;
            int num2 = generator.nextInt(9)+1;
            int num3 = generator.nextInt(9)+1;
            int num4 = generator.nextInt(9)+1;
            int right = 0;

num1 = num1*1000;
            num2 = num2*100;
            num3 = num3*10;
            int code = num1 + num2 + num3 + num4;
            System.out.println("Lets play High-Low");
            while(right == 0){
                System.out.println("Guess a four digit number");
            int guess = input.nextInt();

if (guess < code){
                System.out.println("Low!");
                }
                else if (guess > code){
                System.out.println("High!");
                }
                else if (guess == code){
                System.out.println("You win! The code was " + code + "!");
                right = 1;
                }

}

}
    }